The HSG Foundation would like to thank all of its benefactors

Private individuals, companies, foundations: The University of St.Gallen was able to quickly implement strategically important projects and establish itself as one of the leading business universities thanks to significant donations. Many thanks to our benefactors for their commitment!

Donate now Our benefactors
 

HSG Learning Center

WE ARE BUILDING THE FUTURE OF LEARNING AND TEACHING

The new quality of learning

The aim is for the HSG Learning Center to be an innovative place to think and work, paving the way for new ways of learning and interaction between students, lecturers and people with practical backgrounds. The HSG aims to create a new quality of learning based on an educational concept in order to prepare students in the digital age in the best possible way for their professional duties at a later stage. The HSG Learning Center is seen as an ecosystem for the further development of the learning and teaching culture at the University of St.Gallen.



Donation-barometer


Your support makes a valuable contribution to the progress of the University of St.Gallen and supports the development of new, innovative training concepts for the economy of the future. Thank you very much!



Impact

Innovative learning and teaching for the digital age is developed in the HSG Learning Center.

Over 8,500 students benefit from the HSG Learning Center.

The costs of approximately 60 million Swiss francs are fully financed by private benefactors.

Voices

Clear words from those involved in the project: Prof. Dr. Marc Angélil (president of the panel of experts), Prof. Dr. Bernadette Dilger (expert providing the educational concept for the Learning Center) and Luca P. Serratore (president of the student body) – #3questions

Prof Dr. Marc Angélil, president of the panel of experts

Prof. Dr. Bernadette Dilger, expert providing the educational concept for the Learning Center

Luca P. Serratore, president of the student body

Educational concept

Digital transformation, artificial intelligence and process automation – the professional world of the future will pose completely new challenges for those involved in it. Core learning content must therefore focus on skills in the future, whereby people remain inherently superior. Logical thinking and problem-solving, social and emotional skills, advice and creativity. The HSG Learning Center provides the platform for this educational vision, which develops new and unique learning and teaching formats for the next generation.

«The HSG Learning Center will become a nucleus for the new learning.»

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bieger
President of the University of St.Gallen

«Personalities with responsibility today are committed to personalities with responsibility in the future.»

Urs Wietlisbach
lic.oec. HSG

Architectural concept

Cloister
A continuous path of learning with functional resting places as part of the daily routine. Connected and unbroken

Forum
A stage for many activities, such as conferences, lectures or collective learning – multifunctional and flexible..

Transparency
A democratic space with no hiding in which everything is easy to see, easy to find and easy to reach..

Nature
Greenness is mixed among the learners. Nature becomes part of the study environment. The activities connect indoor and outdoor space.

Floor plan

The new Learning Center has two upper floors, a ground floor and a basement with a total area of approximately 7000 square metres. The square proportions and flat floor permit a high level of flexibility and functionality for a dynamic learning environment. The architectural concept is based on the geometric grid, allowing a free interpretation of every room and the creation of organic processes.

Workshop and innovation areas

Everything flows together here in the atrium: as an open hub, the impressive room height provides a rapid spatial overview. The structural requirements for very different room concepts and applications both public and university-based – are already recessed in the floor.

Erdgeschoss - HSG Learning Center

Rooms for collaboration and rest areas

The cloister rises above the atrium and floods it with light. Spaces in between with lounges and small kitchen units provide freedom of movement while modular partitions respond to the versatile space requirements of panel discussions, lectures or examinations.

Erste Etage - HSG Learning Center

Concentration space

The media and reading rooms are places of peace and concentration. Light floods into the atrium from above and the view onto the terraces opens up the horizon to the outside. Individual work areas, discrete lounges for dialogue and smaller group rooms here enable focused learning and the planning of content.

Zweite Etage - HSG Learning Center

Building

The architectural concept of the HSG Learning Center incorporates two elementary components: the grid and the organism. The grid provides a stable foundation for organic growth and the clarity at the beginning of innovative processes. The modular building concepts, which are acoustically and visually interlinked with each other, combine to form dynamic zones, creating space for adaptation, interpretation and combination.

Embedded in the landscape

The building fits harmoniously into its surroundings. Both physical and morphological interfaces were used to achieve this and the context of the region and town was taken into account. The excavated material generated during the construction phase was used to create small hills and reinforces the organic link between construction and nature. The greenery on the terraces, the connecting path to the HSG main building and the use of seamless materials emphasise the permeability of the building concept.

Spring, south-east side

Summer, north-west side

Autumn, north-east side

Winter, south-west side

Sou Fujimoto Architects

S ou Fujimoto (*1971) graduated in engineering sciences at the University of Tokyo. He established his architectural firm in Tokyo in 2000 and has been a professor at Kyoto University since 2007. He became more widely known when he won the «Architectural Review Awards», an award for emerging young architects, in 2005 and in the following three years. In 2008, he won the prestigious «Japanese Institute of Architecture Grande Prize». In 2013, he was invited to design the summer pavilion at the Serpentine Gallery in London as the youngest architect to date. In addition to many other awards, his office won the competition for the innovative Polytechnique Learning Centre at Paris-Saclay University in 2015. The architect’s firm with over 30 employees has also had an office in Paris in addition to Tokyo since 2016.

Sou Fujimoto on «Open Grid – Choices of Tomorrow»

Milestones

Announcement of the winning project

21/02/2018

The sixteen-member panel of judges chose the winning project for the construction of the Learning Center. They chose Sou Fujimoto Architects with the «Open Grid - Choices of Tomorrow» project. The HSG Foundation wants to achieve the full financing through donations and is on the right track. It would like to express its sincere thanks to the initial benefactors who have pledged around 40 million Swiss francs up until now.

Start of the architectural competition

16/08/2017

Eight renowned national and international offices participate in the invitation process for the architectural competition. The aim of the Learning Center is to bring a structural, technological, virtual and intellectual infrastructure together, thus providing a home for new forms of learning.

Green light from the cantonal government of St.Gallen.

30/05/2017

The cantonal government of St.Gallen sends positive signals to the HSG Foundation for the share of land required for the construction of the HSG Learning Center. The HSG Foundation can therefore begin the further realisation steps. The start of construction is planned for 2019/20 so that the HSG Learning Center will be ready for students in the spring semester of 2022.

Start approaching of funding partners

End of 2016

The HSG Foundation is committed to realise the HSG Learning Center and is starting to approach benefactors.

Quote from a benefactor

«Technological change, constant changes, progressive digitalisation, constantly changing problems not only require flexible, problem-orientated ways of working but also new learning methods and approaches. Students need to experience and learn at an early stage how to work in a changing, interdisciplinary team in a working environment where innovation, creativity and team spirit is reinforced, and not just at a later stage in their practical work. I see the great value and importance of the new HSG Learning Center.»

Michael Hilti, lic. oec. HSG

Initial benefactors

The HSG Foundation would like to thank all of the initial benefactors for their important and generous support, in particular Michael Hilti, the Hilti Family Foundation, Thomas Schmidheiny and the Wietlisbach Foundation. Initial benefactors in alphabetical order:

de Mallmann François-Xavier

ISC and St. Gallen Foundation for International Studies

von und zu Liechtenstein Fürst Hans-Adam II

Further benefactors

Billeter Wohlfahrt Marco & Corinne

Büttner-Thiel Nicole & Alexander

Haberbeck Harro und Christian

Hein & Göldi Bettina & Andreas

Kleiner-Schläpfer Peter & Marianne

Moeri & König Jacqueline & Christian

Moerker Bernhard & Chantalle

Schöning Naujoks Mirjam & Henrik

Schürer Monika und Wolfgang

Wølner-Hanssen Terje I. & Sigi

Downloads

Press

January 2018: alma – alumni magazine of the University of St.Gallen, «The HSG Learning Center will become a nucleus for the new learning»

Press releases

21 February 2018: Press release «Japanese Architecture for the HSG Learning Center»

Booklet HSG Learning Center

29. August 2018: Booklet about the HSG Learning Center project

Additional Projects

Die HSG Stiftung dankt all ihren Förderinnen und Förderern

Privatpersonen, Unternehmen, Stiftungen: Dank signifikanter Zuwendungen konnte die Universität St.Gallen strategisch wichtige Projekte schnell umsetzen und sich als eine der führenden Wirtschaftsuniversitäten etablieren. Herzlichen Dank an unsere Förderinnen und Förderer für ihr Engagement!

Jetzt fördern Unsere Förderer
 

HSG Learning Center

WIR BAUEN DIE ZUKUNFT DES LERNENS UND LEHRENS

Die neue Qualität des Lernens

Das HSG Learning Center soll eine innovative Denk- und Arbeitsstätte sein, die neue Arten des Lernens und der Interaktion zwischen Studierenden, Lehrenden und Personen aus der Praxis ermöglicht. Basierend auf einem didaktischen Konzept strebt die HSG eine neue Qualität des Lernens an, um Studierende im digitalen Zeitalter bestmöglich für ihre späteren beruflichen Aufgaben vorzubereiten. Das HSG Learning Center ist als Ökosystem für die weitere Entwicklung der Lern- und Lehrkultur an der Universität St.Gallen zu verstehen.

Wirkung

Im HSG Learning Center entwickelt sich innovatives Lernen und Lehren für das digitale Zeitalter.

Über 8500 Studierende profitieren vom HSG Learning Center.

Die Kosten von rund 60 Millionen Franken werden vollumfänglich durch private Förderungen finanziert.

Stimmen

Klare Worte der Projektbeteiligten Prof. Dr. Marc Angélil (Präsident der Fachjury), Prof. Dr. Bernadette Dilger (Expertin didaktisches Konzept Learning Center) und Luca P. Serratore (Präsident der Studentenschaft) – #3fragen.

Prof Dr. Marc Angélil, Präsident der Fachjury

Prof. Dr. Bernadette Dilger, Expertin didaktisches Konzept Learning Center

Luca P. Serratore, Präsident der Studentenschaft

Didaktisches Konzept

Digitale Transformation, Künstliche Intelligenz und Prozessautomation – Die Berufswelt der Zukunft stellt völlig neuartige Herausforderungen an ihre Teilnehmer. Zentrale Lehrinhalte müssen sich daher künftig auf Kompetenzen konzentrieren, in denen der Mensch inhärent überlegen bleibt: Logisches Denken und Problemlösung, soziale und emotionale Kompetenzen, Beratung und Kreativität. Das HSG Learning Center bildet die Plattform für diese didaktische Vision, die neue und einzigartige Lehr- und Lernformate für die nächste Generation entwickelt.

«Das HSG Learning Center wird ein Nukleus für das neue Lernen.»

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bieger
Rektor Universität St.Gallen

«Heutige verantwortungsbewusste Persönlichkeiten engagieren sich für zukünftige verantwortungsbewusste Persönlichkeiten.»

Urs Wietlisbach
lic.oec. HSG

Architektonisches Konzept

Kreuzgang
Ein fortlaufender Lehrpfad mit funktionalen Rastplätzen ist Teil des Tagesablaufes. Verbunden und ungestört

Forum
Eine Bühne für vielfältige Aktivitäten wie Konferenz, Vorlesungen oder kollektives Lernen – vielseitig und flexibel.

Transparenz
Ein demokratischer Raum, der nichts versteckt, in dem alles leicht zu sehen, leicht zu finden und leicht zu erreichen ist.

Natur
Grün mischt sich unter die Lernenden. Die Natur wird Teil der Studienumgebung. Die Aktivitäten verbinden Innen- und Aussenräume.

Grundriss

Das neue Learning Center umfasst zwei Obergeschosse, ein Erd- und ein Untergeschoss mit einer Gesamtfläche von rund 7000 Quadratmeter. Die rechteckigen Proportionen und der ebene Untergrund erlauben höchste Flexibilität und Funktionalität für ein dynamisches Lernumfeld. Das geometrische Raster, das dem architektonischen Konzept zugrunde liegt gestattet eine freie Interpretation jedes Raumes und die Entstehung organischer Prozesse.

Worshop- und Innovationsbereiche

Hier im Atrium fliesst alles zusammen: Als offener Knotenpunkt ermöglicht die eindrucksvolle Raumhöhe rasche räumliche Übersicht. Im Boden sind bereits die strukturellen Vorraussetzungen für ganz unterschiedliche Raumkonzepte und -anwendungen eingelassen – sowohl universitäre wie öffentliche.

Erdgeschoss - HSG Learning Center

Räume für Zusammenarbeit und Ruhebereiche

Der Kreuzgang erhebt sich lichtdurchflutet über das Atrium. Zwischenräume mit Lounges und kleinen Kücheneinheiten lassen Bewegungsfreiheit während modulare Trennwände die vielseitigen Raumanforderungen von Podiumsdiskussionen, Lehrveranstaltungen oder Prüfungen beantworten.

Erste Etage - HSG Learning Center

Konzentrationsbereiche

Die Medien- und Leseräume sind Orte der Ruhe und Konzentration. Von oben fliesst das Licht ins Atrium, nach aussen öffnet der Blick auf die Terrassen den Horizont. Hier ermöglichen Einzelarbeitsplätze, diskrete Lounges für Zwiegespräche und kleinere Gruppenräume fokussiertes Lernen und Erarbeiten von Inhalten.

Zweite Etage - HSG Learning Center

Gebäude

Das architektionische Konzept des HSG Learning Centers nimmt zwei elementare Komponenten auf: das Raster und den Organismus. Das Raster bietet das stabile Fundament für organisches Wachstum und die Klahrheit die am Anfang innovativer Prozesse steht. Die modularen, miteinander akustisch und visuell verschränkten Gebäudeelemente verbinden sich zu dynamischen Zonen, die Raum schaffen für Adaption, Interpretation und Kombination.

Einbettung in die Landschaft

Das Gebäude fügt sich fliessend in seine Umgebung ein. Dazu wurden sowohl physische wie morphologische Schnittstellen genutzt wie auch der Kontext von Region und Stadt berücksichtigt. Der in der Konstruktionsphase entstehende Aushub wird zu kleineren Hügeln aufgehäuft und verstärkt die organische Verbindung von Bau und Natur. Die Begrünung der Terrassen, der verbindende Pfad zum HSG Hauptgebäude und die Verwendung fugenfreier Materialien betonen die Durchlässigkeit des Gebäudekonzeptes.

Frühling, Südostseite

Sommer, Nordwestseite

Herbst, Nordostseite

Winter, Südwestseite

Sou Fujimoto Architects

Sou Fujimoto (1971) graduierte in Ingenieurswissenschaften an der Universität Tokio. Er etablierte sein Architekturbüro in Tokio im Jahr 2000 und ist seit 2007 Professor an der Kyoto Universität. Weiteren Kreisen wurde er bekannt, als er im Jahr 2005 und in den drei darauffolgenden Jahren den internationalen Nachwuchsarchitekten-Preis, die «Architectural Review Awards» gewann. 2008 gewann er den prestigeträchtigen «Japanese Institute of Architecture Grande Prize». Im Jahr 2013 wurde er als bislang jüngster Architekt eingeladen, das Sommer-Pavillon der Serpentine Gallery in London zu gestalten. Neben vielen weiteren Preisen, gewann sein Büro im Jahr 2015 den Wettbewerb für das innovative Polytechnique Learning Centre der Paris-Saclay Universität. Seit 2016 hat das Architekturbüro mit über 30 Mitarbeitenden neben Tokio auch einen Standort in Paris.

Sou Fujimoto über «Open Grid – Choices of Tomorrow»

Meilensteine

Bekanntgabe des Gewinnerprojektes

21.02.2018

Die sechzehnköpfige Jury hat das Siegerprojekt für den Bau des Learning Centers erkoren. Die Wahl fiel auf das Architekten Büro Sou Fujimoto Architects mit dem Projekt «Open Grid - Choices of Tomorrow». Die HSG Stiftung will die Finanzierung vollumfänglich über Schenkungen erzielen und sie ist auf gutem Weg. So spricht sie den Initialförderern, die bislang rund 40 Mio. Franken zugesichert haben, ihren grossen Dank aus.

Start des Architekturwettbewerbs

16.08.2017

Acht namhafte nationale wie internationale Büros nehmen am Architekturwettbewerb im Einladungsverfahren teil. Das Ziel des Learning Centers ist es, bauliche, technologische, virtuelle und intellektuelle Infrastruktur zusammenzuführen und somit neuen Lernformen ein Zuhause zu bieten.

Grünes Licht von der Regierung des Kantons St.Gallen

30.05.2017

Die Regierung des Kantons St.Gallen sendet positive Signale an die HSG Stiftung für den benötigten Grundstücksanteil zum Bau des HSG Learning Centers. So kann die HSG Stiftung die weiteren Schritte zur Realisierung beginnen. Baubeginn ist für 2019/20 geplant, so dass das HSG Learning Center im Frühlingssemester 2022 für die Studenten bereit steht.

Start Ansprache Förderpartner

Ende 2016

Die HSG Stiftung verpflichtet sich, das HSG Learning Center zu realisieren und startet die Ansprache von Förderern.

Stimme eines Förderers

«Technologiewandel, ständige Veränderungen, fortschreitende Digitalisierung, laufend ändernde Problemstellungen erfordern nicht nur flexible, problemorientierte Arbeitsformen sondern auch neue Lehrmethoden und -ansätze. Das Arbeiten in wechselnden, interdisziplinären Teams in einer Arbeitsumgebung, die Innovation, Kreativität und Teamgedanken stärkt, müssen Studierende frühzeitig erfahren wie erlernen und nicht erst in der späteren Praxis. Darin sehe ich den grossen Wert und die Wichtigkeit des neuen HSG Learning Centers.»

Michael Hilti, lic. oec. HSG

Initialförderer

Die HSG Stiftung dankt allen Förderinnen und Föderern für deren wichtige und grosszügige Unterstützung, insbesondere Michael Hilti, der Hilti Familienstiftung, Thomas Schmidheiny und der Wietlisbach Foundation. Donatorinnen und Donatoren sind in alphabetischer Reihenfolge aufgeführt:

de Mallmann François-Xavier

Dirrheimer Angela und Manfred

ISC and St. Gallen Foundation for International Studies

von und zu Liechtenstein Fürst Hans-Adam II

Downloads

Presse

Januar 2018: alma – Alumni-Magazin der Universität St.Gallen, «Das HSG Learning Center wird ein Nukleus für das neue Lernen»

Medienmitteilungen

21. Februar 2018: Medienmitteilung «Japanische Architektur für HSG Learning Center»

Weitere Projekte